Dutch Baby, AKA German Pancake (Gluten Free)

Image
Is it pudding? Is it a pancake? It’s both, and it’s awesome.

This is my first attempt at baking the dutch baby. That came out wrong. You know what I mean, right?

Searching for a gluten free dutch baby recipe, I found this one, and followed it pretty closely. Except for I added some sugar, baking powder, and a little tapioca in the hopes that it would puff up a little more. I didn’t measure those things (I know you are shocked), and I probably won’t do it again since the baby didn’t puff up the way I wanted it to. Next time I make this, I’m also going to spray the iron skillet with nonstick spray and use slightly less butter, since it was floating on top when I pulled it out. My butter loving family was not complaining, and even with all of those mistakes, it was gone so fast I didn’t get a chance to take a nice photo of it with powdered sugar.

My 10 year old said, “Mom, I give it 4.5 stars out of 4.” He’s pretty good at math, so I think that’s high praise and not an error.

From “A Girl Defloured”:

  • 2 tablespoon butter
  • 3 extra large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup, plus 2 tablespoons whole milk
  • 1/2 cup GF AP Flour Blend
  • pinch of salt
  • lemon wedges and confectioners sugar for serving

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Put the butter in a 10-inch cast iron skillet and place in the oven to heat the pan and melt the butter.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk the eggs and the milk together. Whisk in the flour and salt until mixture is smooth and thickened slightly. It will have the consistency of a pourable pancake batter.
  3. Remove pan from the oven and swirl to evenly coat it with the melted butter. Pour batter into the pan and return to the oven. Bake for 25-30 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking. The Dutch Baby should be very puffed and very golden brown when you remove it from the oven.
  4. Serve immediately with lemon wedges and confectioners sugar.

4 thoughts on “Dutch Baby, AKA German Pancake (Gluten Free)

Leave a comment