Strawberry Rhubarb Ice Cream

20140515-102957.jpg

Darius asked what I wanted for my birthday earlier this month. I have had an Amazon wish list with dream items on it for ages, and told him that they were some ideas of what my kitchen needs. This is what I woke up to on my birthday morning.

20140515-095455.jpg

Pretty much everything I’d added to that list over the course of a year and a half. He said, “Buying kitchen supplies for your birthday is kind of like giving you a box of condoms. In the end, I’m the one who benefits.”

So true. And he didn’t say “box of condoms”, but my family reads this blog, and I don’t think they want the image of what he actually said in their heads. Though now they probably do. You’re welcome.

In that beautiful stack of dreams was a Cuisinart electric ice cream maker. I’d never made ice cream before, so trying out new techniques and recipes has been fun. However, I’m kind of all about throwing ingredients together and seeing what happens, which is what I did this morning, and it worked! Luckily, I wrote down what I did (first time for everything) and measured everything, too. (Ditto above.)

I popped out to the garden, picked some rhubarb and got to work coring and removing the stems from the strawberries.

20140515-100646.jpg

Then I had a decision to make: fresh strawberries or cooked with the rhubarb? Since I’m no good at making choices, I made both.

20140515-101029.jpg

(Cooked not pictured, because it was all steamy and then i forgot.)

The rest of the directions and method below.

❏ 2 cups diced strawberries, divided
❏ 1/2 cup sugar (for cooked berries and rhubarb)
❏ 1/2 cup milk (to blend with raw berries)
❏ 1/2-1 cup chopped rhubarb
❏ 1/2 cup water

❏ 7 oz can sweetened condensed milk
❏ 12 oz evaporated milk
❏ 3 eggs
❏ 1 cup whole milk or heavy cream
❏ 1/2 T vanilla extract
❏ 1 T pectin
❏ 1 cup sugar

In a medium saucepan, add berries, rhubarb, and water. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 20-30 minutes, or until the rhubarb is tender.

While that is cooking, beat the eggs and 1 cup of the sugar together in a countertop mixer, then add the vanilla, sweetened condensed milk, and evaporated milk and beat well.

Put that mixture into the ice cream maker, start it up, and pour the whole milk over it. (I used 2% milk, and it worked great.)

Add 1/2 cup sugar to the rhubarb and strawberries and stir. Then add the pectin, stir well, and put the whole pot into the freezer to set up.

Put the rest of the strawberries and 1/2 cup of milk into a blender until the berries are the consistency you like. Put the mixture into the freezer to stay cold.

After about 20 minutes, the ice cream should be thickening. Stir in the strawberries and rhubarb mixture and the fresh strawberries and leave the ice cream maker going until the ice cream has set up to soft serve consistency.

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/12277633/?claim=zp9wfj2p6s3″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

