Christmas and Thanksgiving Roundup

I didn’t have a lot of time to take or post photos or recipes during the holidays, so I’m doing a photo dump here. Recipes forthcoming! Working backwards…

IMG_0650

Three lasagnas for family dinner with all gluten free pasta. The big one is with meat and cheese, the medium is with meat and dairy free cheese, and the little one is no meat, no dairy, and no gluten.

1526879_10152255548971874_1275417822_n-1

Gluten free, dairy free, sugar free vegan peanut butter fudge. (I made a second batch with mini marshmallows and crushed candy canes. Not so vegan or sugar free that way.)

IMG_0636

Tons of tahini for a giant bowl of three bean hummus that I didn’t get a photo of. Bad blogger!

IMG_0631

Oh, yes. New Years lobster tails! These were 5 dollars a piece at Albertson’s. Quick steam with some peppercorns, dipped in lemon butter. Heaven.

IMG_0625

I don’t fucking remember what these are. For the life of me, I can’t find the recipe. I do remember them being good, though.

IMG_0585

Ah, the coconut sugar discovery. Did you know that coconut sugar is awesome? I candied about 10 lbs of nuts this year. Half of them with coconut sugar and half with regular sugar. Coconut sugar won every time.

IMG_0584

I don’t know what to call these. Chocolate salty balls is already taken. I was trying to make some vegan frosting with dates and raw cashews, but I accidentally made these instead. Add a little coconut sugar, cocoa powder and salt and you have truffles. Or whatever.

IMG_0570

Tea! My friend Michael made this beautiful box for me for Christmas, and I almost instantly knew what to put in it. As you can see, not all of my loose tea tins fit. Yeah, it’s a bit of a problem.

IMG_0485

Made about 10 of these loaves of gluten free bread. I might be getting the hang of it.

IMG_0456

We had snow long enough for me to take this photo, but since I have this picture, I will always remember Christmas 2013 as a white one. Even though it wasn’t. Because that’s how memories work.

IMG_0421

Gluten free banana bread.

IMG_0398

My youngest, being adorbs.

IMG_0405

THE HOLY GRAIL of our family recipes…Gluten free Christmas cut outs that are SO good, my sister and mother threatened me with bodily harm if I shared the recipe. And my sister lives in Jersey, so…I’m taking it seriously.

IMG_0370

I don’t remember making this. It looks like an apple, fennel, tarragon and pomegranate salad. Not only do I not remember making this, I don’t even remember tasting it. It must have been good, because it was gone by the time I got to the table.

IMG_0360

Yes, that is chicken thighs wrapped in bacon. What?

IMG_0368

And so begins the bacon series. I made every meal with bacon for about 2 weeks before Thanksgiving.

IMG_0363

I mean *everything*.

IMG_0365

Fennel and green beans wrapped in bacon. If you have to eat green beans, this is the way to do it.

IMG_0289

My dad brought over this giant batch of rose hips. I processed them, boiled them down and made rose hip syrup. No one in this house is getting a cold this winter!

IMG_0272

We had a giant turkey for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and I made many, many turkey soups. This is but one of them, half of which is still in the freezer.

IMG_0268

I’m not kidding about the bacon thing.

IMG_0255

I thinly sliced some apples, boiled them in sugar water, and let them sit in the fridge for a few days. I completely forgot about them until Thanksgiving morning. I woke up too early to take the turkey out of the brine, so I slow roasted these apples until they were crispy. Then I wrapped them in bacon. (Just kidding. But doesn’t that sound great?)

IMG_0229

Peach blueberry pie with a sugar cookie crust.

IMG_0224

Four layer almond, orange, and blueberry cake with vegan whipped cream frosting. This whole thing is paleo, gluten free, dairy free and vegetarian. It’s so good for you, you could eat it for breakfast. At least that is what I told myself for the week that I ate this for breakfast.

IMG_0218

Vegan, gluten free, sugar free, paleo pecan pie.

IMG_0204

The pumpkin I roasted for pumpkin pie. Cut off the top, clean it out, put it in the oven at 400 for about an hour with the top back on.

IMG_0192

IMG_0194

Lamb stew. Should be dropped in for the last 20 minutes of simmering time to infuse the stew…

IMG_0195

Attach to the lid so it doesn’t float away.

IMG_0189

Pretty much sums up my November. Lard and lard.

IMG_0149

Persian rice with potato tah dig.

IMG_0154

Caramelized carrots for some dish that I didn’t take photos of or write down a recipe for. Sigh.

IMG_0137

Roasted baby eggplant with thyme. So good.

IMG_0134

We were on a tomato soup kick here for a little while. This is attempt number 1, which was pretty good.

IMG_0132

We even roasted our own tomatoes for the soup. Fancy.

IMG_0114

We had a major disaster one chilly evening in November. My trusty wine bottle opener finally gave up the ghost. RIP, my friend. RIP.

IMG_0112

The offending bottle with the evidence still embedded in it’s woody flesh. Bugger.

IMG_0118

Almond Cranberry Cake.

IMG_0039

Second attempt at tomato soup, which I found much yummier than the first one.

IMG_0201

A slow day in the kitchen…

IMG_0564

The youngest and me, taking a break on Christmas day.

IMG_0591

Gluten free pizza crusts, prepared and cooled in anticipation of family pizza night.

IMG_0597

We made 7 pizzas on family pizza night. This one was gluten free and vegan, (almond cheese). The pizzas were essentially gone by the time I got around to pictures. I’m going to have to start making people wait while I get the photos.

IMG_0624

These look like a cookie fail, but they were awesome. The outside was meringue-ish, and the inside was tender like a…I don’t really know, I’ve never tasted anything like it. Of course, I didn’t not write down the recipe.

IMG_0163

Cranberry apple pie.

IMG_0260

And last but not least…the way I made it through the holidays: mimosas. Happy belated holidays, everyone!

Leave a Reply

