Persimmon Almond Cake (gluten free)

1463972_10152132813026874_2135893601_n

We have a new Asian foods market within walking distance (if someone else is walking) from our house. I dropped by to pick up some extra fine white rice flour (a dollar a pound! Never again, Amazon. Never again.) and was pleasantly surprised to see persimmons in their produce department. I had forgotten, however, how quickly they ripen. I remembered this morning, when I awoke to a rotten one that was fine the night before. Never again, persimmon. Never again.

After I finished mixing everything, I decided that it needed a little salt. Unfortunately, I removed the salt stopper yesterday and completely forgot. I poured half of the salt container into the mixture, and ended up fishing salt out of the cake for the next ten minutes. In order to remind myself that the salt has no stopper, I wrote myself a wee note on the salt container.

IMG_0110

  • 3 medium ripe persimmon
  • 5 eggs
  • 3/4 cups caster sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups ground almonds
  • 1 tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • powdered sugar for top
  • one pinch each of cinnamon, cloves, allspice, nutmeg, and ginger (or 1/4 t of pumpkin pie spice)
  • 1/2 t salt

In a small bowl, combine almond flour and baking powder, and set aside.

Put unpeeled persimmon into food processor until smooth. Add eggs and sugar to persimmon, and process until thickened. Add remaining ingredients and pulse until blended.

Pour into greased pan and bake at 340 for 1 hour. Leave the cake to firm up in the pan for 20 minutes then turn out, and turn over to finish cooling right way up.

2 thoughts on “Persimmon Almond Cake (gluten free)

    • That’s great! I’d love to read about it. This was the first time I’ve made this cake, but I made a similar one with tangerines a while back. I think just about any fruit would work. It is *so* good…it tastes a little like a custard because of the eggs, and it is dense and amazing because of the almond meal. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar for the photo, but I’m planning on serving it with cream cheese frosting this weekend. OH, forgot to mention…it keeps for a week in the fridge, and tastes just as good (maybe better) the second day. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

