Gluten Free Thanksgiving Dinner Rolls

Image

Hot damn!

After many failed attempts at fluffy, soft dinner rolls that don’t turn into hockey pucks the next day, I finally stumbled upon this recipe. I tweaked it a little, since I’ve been weighing flours instead of measuring them when I make pastries and breads.

YEAST MIXTURE

  • 2 T dry active yeast
  • 2 t sugar
  • 2 c warm milk

DRY

  • 130 g super fine white rice flour
  • 63 g tapioca starch
  • 51 g sweet white rice flour
  • 60 g super fine brown rice flour
  • 105 g cornstarch
  • 42 g nonfat dry milk
  • 12 g potato starch
  • 9 g xantham gum
  •  ½ t fine grain sea salt
  • 1 T baking powder

WET

  • 2 eggs, divided
  • ¼ c melted butter
  • ¼ c honey
  • 1 t apple cider vinegar
  • 1 egg (for brushing on top of the rolls, optional)

Stir sugar into warm milk until dissolved. Add yeast, and set aside for a few minutes while you assemble the wet and dry ingredients separately. It should start bubbling a bit.

In a stand mixer, stir all of the dry ingredients until well blended.

In a separate bowl, mix all of the wet ingredients until blended. Add the wet bowl and yeast mixture to the dry and mix on low until blended, scraping the sides of the bowl. Then mix on medium for 3 minutes. It will look like batter instead of dough. Don’t worry. It’s supposed to.

Spoon into greased muffin tins to about 3/4 full. Cover with a towel and let rise in a warm place for 35-40 minutes. Brush beaten egg mixture on top before putting into the oven.

Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown. Let cool in the pan for a bit before removing.

*edit*

I’m no pro at making bread. In fact, this is the first gluten free yeast bread that I have really loved. I’d rather cook than bake. Much less measuring involved.

That said, here are a couple of things I did in this recipe that I think helped.

– I heated the milk until it was warm enough that I couldn’t feel it on my arm. I tested it the way you might test warmed up baby formula.

– I put all of the dry ingredients into the food processor for about a minute before putting it into the stand mixer. I think it was better mixed that way, but it could just be my imagination.

Leave a Reply

