Roasted Delicata Squash

Image

It’s been a busy couple of days, and I might have overdone it a little with all of the moving and standing and walking and using my hands an whatnot. My fingers swelled to the point that they look a little like sausages. I’m running a low grade fever, and I’m still in my pajamas. What would be the logical thing to do today? Well, bake. Of course.

I wanted to make squash, but I didn’t think I could get an acorn squash open by myself. I’ve had this Delicata sitting on my counter for a couple of weeks. Okay, 6 weeks. I was almost afraid to open it, but it was perfect.

Image

The great thing about the Delicata is that the skin is so soft, you can eat it. No peeling necessary. It’s also much less firm than the acorn, so it takes less time to cook.

All I did was cut it in half, then into 1 inch pieces, added some olive oil and salt, then roasted it for 10 minutes on one side and flip 3 times for a total of 30 minutes on 425.

Boom. Amazingly sweet, low in fat and calories, high fiber…it has that sweetness and mouth feel like you are eating something bad for you, but it’s so so so good for you, and so delicious.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Delicata Squash

Leave a Reply

