Khoresht Ghormeh Sabzi

Spinach, shallots, onion, dill, limes, ginger, garlic, parsley, cilantro, tarragon...and I think that's it. If you can get fresh or frozen fenugreek, it's totally worth it.

Spinach, shallots, onion, dill, limes, ginger, garlic, parsley, cilantro, tarragon…and I think that’s it. If you can get fresh or frozen fenugreek, it’s totally worth it.

The last time I made ghormeh sabzi, I was too worn out to list the ingredients or a recipe. This is an all afternoon kind of meal, but it is worth the work. I started by going to the market around noon and picking up fresh herbs and vegetables, and I stopped cooking around 7:00PM. Here are the rest of the ingredients:

IMG_1267

IMG_1271

Fenugreek seeds, black cardamom pods, coriander seeds, angelica powder

To start: chop all of the greens up, or put them into the food processor.

IMG_1274

My second best friend in the kitchen.

Remember all of those veggies at the top? They turn into this:

IMG_1277

Cook this down for about 10 minutes, until it is not longer steaming. Then put a tablespoon or so of oil in, and saute them until they look like this:

IMG_1295

Not a great photo. Please note two things: 1) I have never been able to figure out how to take selfies in a reflection, but it looks like I figured it out in this photo, and 2) the reason the photos get progressively more sucky from here on out will be evident when you see the next photo.

At this point, I’ve been on my feet for a couple of hours, cutting, standing at the stove, doing dishes, cleaning up for the next big mess I’m about to make…and since I no longer partake of the narcotics, and I really don’t like weed that much…out comes the Riesling.

IMG_1285

My best friend in the kitchen.

That vegetable concoction needs to be stirred pretty continuously, so while you are at the stove, you’ll want to start heating up the seeds and whole spices in another good sized pot.

IMG_1279

Black peppercorns, whole cloves, coriander and fenugreek seeds in olive oil for about 5 minutes on medium, just until aromatic.

When you can really smell those spices, throw in the onions, garlic, ginger, and shallots.

IMG_1281

Cook that until browned. It’s all green and healthy so far, right? Here comes the meat!

IMG_1283

About a pound of lamb. “Noooo Lisa! Don’t eeeat me!” Sorry, vegans.

Then comes the beef:

IMG_1287

Put the meat in with the onions, and brown it, but don’t cook all the way through. Just enough so that the onions can caramelize and the meat gets a nice brown crust.

Add 3 or so cups of water to the mix, bring to a boil, and simmer for 15 minutes. It will look something like this:

IMG_1289

Steamy.

Now it’s time to add the cooked greens and all of the spices! I don’t measure this stuff…I just keep putting it in until it looks and smells right.

Simmer for half an hour, and then add two cans of kidney beans.

IMG_1307

Simmer for another hour, and it’s done!

IMG_1339

Serve over Persian rice with tah dig, which I attempted again yesterday. It came out pretty well. I’m getting close, I can feel it!

IMG_1337

One thought on “Khoresht Ghormeh Sabzi

  1. Pingback: Potato Tah Dig (Chelo) | Another Damn Cooking Blog

Leave a Reply

