Spiced Applesauce

1377086_10152062801976874_1572497086_n

Saturday is usually the day my dad comes over for dinner, but last night, we canned some applesauce instead. Well, canning was the original idea. We finished it and tasted it, and figured it wouldn’t last more than a day in the refrigerator, so using jars instead of tupperware was probably a waste of time.

I don’t really like store bought applesauce all that much. There is something cloying about the added ascorbic acid mixed with the sickeningly sweet sugars that doesn’t really do it for me.  I either have never made applesauce, or it’s been so long that I have forgotten that I’ve made applesauce. To save my country girl cred, I’m going to go with the latter.

We used the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for the most part. I like a lot of cinnamon on my apples, no matter how they are cooked, so we tripled the amount. I also put a little maple syrup in there. I may have used a little butter. Just a smidge.

We used about 1/2 Gala and 1/2 Granny Smith, which is what I put in my apple pies, too. That combo made the sauce just this side of too tart. Definitely not cloying. Way better than the stuff I’ve been putting in recipes, by a mile. I didn’t spend a lot of time taking photos, but now that I know what applesauce *can* taste like, I’ll be making more and taking more photos.

As with most things in the kitchen, this is a personal alchemy. You can make this however you like. It’s all experimentation. This is what we did.

  • 6 pounds Apples, Peeled, Cored, And Cut Into 8 Slices
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 limes, juiced (or lemons…I only had limes, so that’s what we used.)
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar, Packed
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup
  • 1 T Cinnamon
  • 2 t Nutmeg
  • 2 t Allspice
  • 1/4 stick Butter or margarine

Combine all ingredients in a large pot and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, for 25-35 minutes.

Remove from heat and cool slightly, then use a potato masher on the apples until they are the consistency you prefer. (You can also use a food processor or a stick blender.)

Leave a Reply

