Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls

Image

My 10 year old son loves pizza. He will eat a 12 inch pizza by himself in one sitting if I let him.  I make my own gluten free pizza crust now, but I have tried every pizza crust mix there is. He never liked the mixes, so I stopped using them, but kept them in the cupboard for…I don’t know why. Because they were expensive, and I couldn’t just toss them? I’m glad I didn’t, because the base of this recipe is one of those pizza crust mixes. I just kind of stumbled upon this recipe while searching for something else, and couldn’t believe my luck. I used the same basic recipe with a slightly different method, and they came out beautifully. Moist and delicious…I can’t tell the difference between these and those made with wheat flour.

  • rolls:
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 yeast package
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 16 oz of bob’s red mill gluten free pizza crust mix
  • filling:
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Add 1 T of sugar to the warm water. Sprinkle yeast into top of water, and let it sit for 5 minutes.

Cream together butter and sugar.

Add eggs, one at a time, making sure to blend in completely.

Add yeast mixture to butter and eggs and blend. Add in pizza crust mix, and blend for 2 minutes with a hand or stand blender. Take out the ball of dough, rub butter all over the outside, and put it down on 24 inches of parchment paper. Put another 24 inch piece of parchment paper over it, and roll it out until it’s about 19 inches long.

Once the dough covers the wax paper, brush melted butter over it from edge to edge.

Combine the sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle mixture over the dough from edge to edge. Pick up the short end of the wax paper and roll the dough over on itself until you reach the end. Cut the roll into 1 1/2 inch pieces and put the discs into an 8×8 greased pan. Let rise for 30 minutes, then bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes. Cool until the butter stops bubbling, and then flip out onto a plate.

Image

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls

Leave a Reply

