Mint and Pineapple Sage Rice

Image

The inspiration for this rice was that I had a bunch of parsley that was about to go bad in the fridge, and extra long grain basmati rice soaking in water in my fridge for 2 days that really needed to be cooked. I also had a whole bunch of pineapple sage and mint leaves from my dad sitting on the counter waiting for me to figure out what to do with them. I pruned back some larger plants and set some of the cuttings to take root on my windowsill, but I hadn’t done anything but make some tea with the leaves that I took off. (The little flowers on top of the rice are the edible flowers of the mint and pineapple sage plants. I added some of them to the mix, which is why there is a little red in there.) We also have some dal leftover but no cardamom rice, so I wanted something to complement the dal.

As usual, I just kept throwing things into the pot until it looked and tasted good, so I’ll try to recreate that here. Spices and seasonings are so individual…you can use as much or as little of these things as you like.

  • 2 T minced ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • bunches of parsley, mint, and pineapple sage
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 T butter or ghee (or dairy free margarine)
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1 cup rice
  • 5 slices of ginger
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 t salt

Cook rice and ginger slices in water, 1 T olive oil and 1/2 t salt. Remove ginger slices.

While rice is cooking, put everything else into a food processor until it looks like a paste.

Mix it in with the rice, salt and pepper to taste.

One thought on “Mint and Pineapple Sage Rice

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Fish Tacos | Another Damn Cooking Blog

Leave a Reply

