Cinnamon Apple Stuffed Pumpkin

Image

My dad came over for dinner tonight, but he refused to let me take photos. I have a couple of photos I took surreptitiously, but I won’t post them unless he gives the go ahead. Sorry family back home in Ohio. Take it up with the man.

I have seen a couple of recipes for baked pumpkin floating about, but they all seem to use one cheese or another, which looks AWESOME! But we can’t eat cheese here. Boo. Then I started thinking about other things I could stuff into a pumpkin. Apples seemed like the obvious choice. (Read: apples were what I had sitting on the counter next to the pumpkin. If we’d had pears or oranges, this would be a very different dish.)

Image

It’s like a turducken! Except totally different.

1 large or 2 small apples (I cut up 2 medium sized honeycrisp apples, and they didn’t fit. You want to fill it a little over half of the way with apples.)

In a bowl, mix:

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 stick of butter (optional)

1/4 cup maple syrup

cinnamon, cloves, allspice, cardamom, nutmeg and salt to taste.

Stir it all up, bake it at 375 for 45 minutes to an hour, depending on the size of the pumpkin.

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Apple Stuffed Pumpkin

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Pumpkin Cake Donut Holes | Another Damn Cooking Blog

  2. Pingback: Yes! Finally! A Gluten Free Pie Crust That Doesn’t Completely Suck! | Another Damn Cooking Blog

Leave a Reply

