Spicy Baked Potato Chips

Image

I love salt.

It seems like every time I put a meal on the table, I say, “It might need salt.”, and pretty much every time I take a first bite of anything, I say, “This needs salt.” Most of the recipes I post here say “salt and pepper to taste”, because if I told you how much salt I used, you’d send me a defibrillator.

But as much as I love salt, I can’t stand eating potato chips from the store, because they are sooo salty. I think when you get used to eating real food, most processed crap tastes like…well, crap. It’s been a long time since anyone in this house has eaten anything out of a box or bag. Except my 14 year old step daughter, who doesn’t really cotton to most of my cooking. But that’s a topic for a completely different blog.

  • 2 russet potatoes, cut as thinly as you can slice them without losing a digit
  • vegetable oil
  • chili powder
  • cayenne pepper
  • sea salt
  • freshly ground pepper

Pour some oil and some spices into a large bowl.  After cutting the potatoes, add them to the oil and spices and swish ’em around until they are covered.

Bake them on parchment paper at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. Take them out and flip them. Bake them for another 20 minutes or so, occasionally checking to make sure they aren’t burning. When they are looking pretty crispy, take them out and put them on a paper towel covered plate or if you have one, a cookie rack so they can dry out on both sides. Eat them all up right away, because they won’t stay crispy forever. If you do have some leftover, (not bloody likely), just put them in the oven again for a few minutes until they get crispy again.

2 thoughts on “Spicy Baked Potato Chips

Leave a Reply

