White Girl Fail: Attempt at Tahdig

I really love cooking Persian food. Darius’ father is from Iran, so I was introduced to lots of different kinds of foods I had never heard of when we met.

There is one dish I haven’t tried, because it seemed way too difficult. Here’s what Tah Dig is supposed to look like:

Image

Lovely, isn’t it? Courtesy of Turmeric and Saffron: http://turmericsaffron.blogspot.com/2010/01/art-of-making-persian-tah-dig.html

Here’s what my first attempt looked like.

Image

Nailed it.
Why is it so white? Because the rest of it is black and adhered to the bottom of the pan.

I used all my saffron on the first attempt, but I thought…what the heck. It won’t taste like the Tahdig D grew up with, but it’s rice. How can you screw up rice?

Image

I continued to screw up rice.

Image

Third attempt. Starting to look a little more like food.

Image

Fourth attempt. Tastes a little like scorched Rice Krispies. Not in a good way.

IMG_0711

Fifth attempt. Kind of. But not really.

The verdict? Go to Google. Search “Persian restaurant” in your city.

If you want to try it, don’t do what I did. Check out Turmeric and Saffron‘s step by step tutorial. I’ll be doing this once a week until I get it right. Oh yes. It will happen.

6 thoughts on “White Girl Fail: Attempt at Tahdig

  1. Absolutely agree! 🙂 I will always post food fails, because 1) I think they are hilarious, and 2) it’s important for people new to cooking to know that everyone screws the pooch now and then.

  2. Pingback: Khoresh-e Loobia Sabz (Persian Green Bean Stew with Chicken) | Another Damn Cooking Blog

  3. Pingback: Khoresht Ghormeh Sabzi and Lima Bean with Dill Tah Dig II: This Time, It’s Personal | Another Damn Cooking Blog

  4. Pingback: Tah Dig, Week Four: Successish! | Another Damn Cooking Blog

  5. Pingback: Potato Tah Dig (Chelo) | Another Damn Cooking Blog

Leave a Reply

