Veggie (or not) Chili, and Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

photo

Now that it’s autumn, Darius has been hinting about how great it would be to have an apple dessert (“a strudel or something”) sometime in the near future. He’s gone so far as to buy all of the ingredients of a dish, set them up on the counter, and say: “I don’t want you to think I am putting this all here for *you* to use. I am planning on making this when I get home from work.”

Two things:

1) No.*

and

B) No.*

* 1) Stay the hell out of my kitchen. Just because we both can fit in there does *not* mean we can both “fit in there”, amirite?

* B) You don’t even cook, so…

I know that if he goes as far as to buy all of the ingredients and set them up, in order of use, that maybe he’s hungry for something specific.

Chili

  • 1 lb beef (optional)
  • 1 can Kidney beans
  • 1 can Black beans
  • 2 cans crushed tomatoes (I used the last fresh tomatoes from my garden, too!)
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 poblano pepper, diced
  • 1 red or white onion, diced
  • (or, if you are pressed for time, you can use frozen veggies. There are some frozen mixes that have all of these ingredients that will cut a lot of time from prep. I say “diced”, but I usually put them all into the food processor and pulse until they are chopped.)

 

  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 3 heaping T chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt (more or less to taste)
  • 2 T fresh chopped basil (dried basil works, too!)

 

  • 3 T soy sauce
  • 2 T blackstrap molasses (just trust me.)
  • 1 cup coffee (again…trust me!)
  • 2 cups of water or vegetable stock (depending on how thin/thick you like your chili)

Other ingredients I *have* used and love, but alas, most of the folks in the house are allergic to them.

  • 1 cup of beer
  • 1 T cocoa powder

Brown your ground beef, if you are going to use it. Otherwise, this is a great veggie chili.

When I use ground beef, I brown it in the biggest stew pot I have, so I only have to use one pot for the whole recipe. Because I don’t like cleaning the kitchen as much as I like messing it up.

In that same pot, on top of the browned ground beef, add all of the veggies and spices.

Cook that for 15 minutes on medium, or until everything kind of looks like this:

Image

Then add everything else, bring it to a slow boil, then reduce heat to simmer, and let it sit on the stove for a couple of hours.

Top off with sour cream and shredded cheese if you like. We eat ours with fresh tortilla chips and/or cornbread. (Recipe forthcoming.) Feeds a small army, or my brood for 2 days.

IMG_0489

**

Slow Cooker Recipe for Gluten-Free Apple Crisp

(Makes 4 large or 6 small servings)

Ingredients:

5 apples, peeled and cut into slices (we like the peels left on, but we’re weird.)

1/4 cup butter

1/3 cup rice flour

1/3 cup rolled oats

1/3 cup sugar

2-3 T brown sugar

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

2 tsp ground ginger or ginger powder

Instructions:

Cover the bottom of the slow cooker with butter, vegetable oil, or cooking spray. (I use butter. I mean, come on.)

Wash apples, core, peel off skins, and cut into slices.  Put sliced apples in an even layer in the bottom of the slow cooker. (I used honey crisp and granny smith apples.)

IMG_0491

Put the butter, rice flour, rolled oats, sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg into a food processor and pulse until it looks like little pearls.

IMG_0492

Sprinkle the topping mixture over the apples.

IMG_0493

Put a piece of paper towel (or two) over the top of the slow cooker so it’s completely covered, then put the lid over that.

Cook on high for 2 hours.  Remove lid and paper towel carefully so the liquid doesn’t drip down into the crispy top.

Serve warm with ice cream, whipped cream, or alone. I like to put a little bit of soy milk on top of mine. But again…I’m weird.

IMG_0496

Recipe adapted from Kalyn’s Kitchen, which was adapted from Slow Cooker Peach Crisp at 365 Days of Slow Cooking.

One thought on “Veggie (or not) Chili, and Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Buttermilk Dinner Rolls (Gluten Free) | Another Damn Cooking Blog

Leave a Reply

