Quick and Easy Roasted Potatoes

Image

It seems like I am always so focused on the main dish that I forget to make  a side dish. Then I try throwing something together that just doesn’t cut it. Like last week’s family dinner giant clusterf**k of green beans, broccoli, and snap peas in an orange, garlic, ginger reduction. I botched the crap out of it, and it took me forever to make, so I missed out on the fun family time. Boo.

I needed some ideas for fast, easy sides that tasted awesome and didn’t have too many ingredients. The main dish usually has a ton of ingredients, so…not everything has to be complicated. Or so I hear.

So, I’m moping around, sitting on the couch, icing my stupid knees, and watching (well, listening to) the Food Network, and LO AND BEHOLD…a couple of recipes, just for me. Exactly what I needed!

Here’s what you do:

Put a baking sheet or cookie sheet into the oven, and pre heat the oven to 425.

Grab as many waxy (white or red) potatoes as you need. Usually one or two per person is a good number.

Cut them into quarters, making sure that all of the pieces are around the same size.

Put them all into a bowl, and lightly coat them with olive oil. Then season to taste.

When the pan is preheated, put the potatoes on it. You’ll hear a sizzle. That’s a good sign.

Put it back in the oven for about 20 minutes, and then pull the pan back out. Turn each of the potatoes over, and put it back into the oven for 5 minutes. Pull out again and roast for another 5 minutes.

The cooking time really depends on the size of your potatoes. I used plain yellow, waxy potatoes and they took about 30 minutes to roast. Smaller potatoes might take less time.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Roasted Potatoes

Leave a comment